Masters Programmes Offered at Egerton University - Application and Admission Procedures

Egerton University

Faculty of Science

M.Sc Biochemistry (Research Option)
M.Sc Biochemistry Science and Technology (Research Option)
M.Sc in Mycology
M.Sc in Plant Pathology
M.Sc in Limnology
M.Sc in Animal physiology
M.Sc in integrated Pest and Vector management
M.Sc in Chemistry
M.Sc in Physics
M.Sc in Biostatistics & Buimetrics
M.Sc in pure Mathematics
M.Sc in Applied Mathematics
M.Sc in Statistics
MSc. in Medical Parasitology

Faculty of Agriculture

M.Sc. in Agricultural Economics
M.Sc. in Animal Breeding And Genetics
M.Sc. in Soil Science
M.Sc. in Animal Production (with Breeding and Nutrition options)
M.Sc. in Agronomy (with Protection, Breeding and Production Options)
M.Sc. in Food Science
M.Sc. in Horticulture (with Floriculture, Olericulture and Pomology options) In Livestock Production
M.Sc in Plant Biotechnology
M.Sc in Animal Nutrition

Faculty of Engineering in Agricultural Engineering.
Master of Science in Agricultural Engineering.
Master of Science in Soil and Water Engineering (SWEN)
Master of Science in Water Resources and Environmental Management

Faculty of Arts And Social Sciences

M.A.English Language and Linguistics.
M.A. Kiswahili.
M.A. Religion.

Faculty of Education And Community Studies

M.Sc. in Community Studies & Extension.
M.Sc. in Science Education
M.Sc. in Curriculum & Instruction Educational Management
M. sc. Agriculture Education; Agriculture Extension

Faculty of Environment And Resource Development

M.Sc in (Geography)
M.Sc in Natural Resources Management
MSc in Environmental Science

Faculty of Health Sciences

M.Sc. in Foods Nutrition & Dietetics.
M.Sc. in Health Services Management
M.Sc. in of Public Health

College Of Open And Distance Learning

M.Sc in Curriculum and Instruction
M.Sc in Education Management
M.Sc in Education Foundations
M.Sc in Guidance and Counseling
M.Sc in Languages
M.Sc in Guidance & Counseling
M.Sc in Community Studies and Extension
M.A. in linguistic MA (Ling)
M.A. in Community Economic Development (CED)
M.A. in Social Work MA (SW) (Evening Programme)


Application forms may be obtained from the Director, Board of Postgraduate studies upon payment of a prescribed Non-refundable fee and returned duly completed.

All applicants for registration shall be processed in the first instance through the relevant Department in which registration is sought. The Department shall then forward all such applications with appropriate comments to the Faculty board concerned for approval and onward transmission to the Board of Postgraduate

Applicants shall be admitted to an only one-degree programme at a time.

Admission shall be confirmed by letter from the Direct, Board of Postgraduate Studies

Admission shall be offered to holders of a Bachelor's Degree with an Upper Second Class Honours or above or equivalent qualification from recognized

In exceptional cases, the Senate may also admit to the Master's programme a non-holder of Upper Second Class Honours provided that such candidate can, on the basis of the research and other scholarly work done, demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Senate qualification to undertake postgraduate studies.

Subject to approval by the Senate, Departments may formulate regulations requiring applicants to have attained other academic qualifications as may be consistent with the goals of their Master's programmes or to appear for an interview to determine their suitability for admission.

In exceptional cases, the holder of lower second class honor may be admitted if they have two years of relevant experience. a qualification from a recognized institution in the relevant field of specialization acceptable to Senate. Those with a 'Pass' Diploma will be considered if they have at least two years relevant experience after graduation meets additional entry requirements as may be specified by the respective Department, Faculty, School or Institute.
Leave a Comment
Previous Post Next Post